Happy Singles Day!

I refuse to acknowledge the 14th of February as a day for lovebirds to celebrate their love and flaunt it in our face, and by us I mean the single people. I thought we are living in the age of acceptance and equality. How is a whole fucking day dedicated to couples non-discriminating?

Tables at restaurants are usually reserved for couples. Even if you manage to get yourself a table, you have to endure sympathy stares all through your meal which is humiliating. Unless you’re one of those people who knows no shame, this is usually something you do not want to ever experience. Also, why doesn’t singlehood entitle you to receive teddy bears and flowers on this particular day? I mean, I want me some flowers goddamnit!


I just find the whole idea of Valentine’s day ridiculously absurd. As bitter as I am about being solo once again this day, I really think that people who actually do celebrate this day are being made a fool. Why are you spending your money on gifts for your partner just because everyone else is doing it? Why on this day? Isn’t it a little unromantic? Aren’t anniversaries, birthdays and for some of you, monthly anniversaries enough? At least for those, you are actually celebrating something special. You managed to put up and get through a year, a month or so being with no one else but each other. What are you celebrating on Valentine’s day? Your love? BAH! How silly. This point has been brought up many many times but you’re just celebrating a day some big corporation came up with to earn heaps more money off you.

But that is not my point. My point is, if the couples get a day to celebrate their relationship, we, the solos deserve a day of our own too. So I propose, irregardless of your relationship status, we all celebrate the 14th of February. If you’re single, get a bunch of your friends together and reserve a table at the fanciest restaurant in your area. Celebrate your independence andΒ  singlehood and laugh at those with the obligation of paying meals-for-two and getting their partners useless meaningless gifts.

Of course, my opinion would probably change if I actually had a partner. Huhu!

You know what is actually a good reason to celebrate? My good friend Ed.d of Inside the Gay Gate turns 24 today so get your ass over there and wish him a happy birthday.

Happy Singles Day!

7 thoughts on “Happy Singles Day!

  1. I concur.

    It’s funny why must it be on the Valentine’s day the lovey doveys love each other (or love more) when they can love them anytime of the days that there are together. Perhaps, they can do it everyday, ha ha!

    I went to NanYang yesterday and I was at the counter paying my stuffs and there was a teenage male behind me with a box and I was thinking that that must’ve been for his girlfriend and I must’ve looked silly buying balloons!

    Anyway, I’m really glad that finally I have read something about how shite is Valentine’s day. Well, not really what you entry is about. It’s more to the singles deserving their day.

    And by the way, hello, stranger. I just happen to stumble upon your account on YouTube and then after some clickings, it led me to this. Good entries.

    πŸ™‚

  2. I concur.

    It’s funny why must it be on the Valentine’s day the lovey doveys love each other (or love more) when they can love them anytime of the days that there are together. Perhaps, they can do it everyday, ha ha!

    I went to NanYang yesterday and I was at the counter paying my stuffs and there was a teenage male behind me with a box and I was thinking that that must’ve been for his girlfriend and I must’ve looked silly buying balloons!

    Anyway, I’m really glad that finally I have read something about how shite is Valentine’s day. Well, not really what you entry is about. It’s more to the singles deserving their day.

    And by the way, hello, stranger. I just happen to stumble upon your account on YouTube and then after some clickings, it led me to this. Good entries.

    πŸ™‚

  3. Freddy says:

    Ed.d – Happy singles day to you too. Hope you had a fantastic and trashy one!

    Zafirah – Exactly. Be original and romantic and surprise your loved ones on random days to celebrate your love. πŸ˜€

    Speaking of balloons, maybe next year I could stand somewhere in town with helium-filled balloons and give single people the balloons. That would really put a smile on their faces I think. Hrrmmm.. that is a fantastic idea!

    By the way, welcome to my blog! πŸ˜€

  4. it was fabulously trashy, a rather extended liquid lunch with friends, followed by drunk shopping at Dior. Great day, which Im sure Ill regret when I sober up, or when I get a call from my bank manager.x

  5. Freddy says:

    Ed.d – When I turned 19, I maxed out my gold card shopping at Fendi and Louis Vuitton and on parties cuz it was the shittiest birthday ever. Ahhh designer boutiques, where would we be without you? xx

    Zafirah – Then I shall give one especially to you next year dear.

Leave a Reply

