Why I hate mainstream

I feel for the emo kids at times. And by emos, I mean the real kind, not those useless wannabes you find loitering outside KFC on Jalan Pretty. Speaking of which, the emos in Brisbane hang out right in front of Hungry Jack’s. What is it with these kids and fast food joints? Anyway, you know how they’re all like…

“Fuck! Dashboard Confessional (or whatever they’re listening to these days) has gotten too mainstream. We need to find a new band to listen too. And cut ourselves!”

I do understand what they mean though. For me, lets take Melbourne Shuffle for instance. See I’ve been doing it for the past 3 years and honestly speaking, I’m really good. Just ask the patrons at The Family. Hah! Back to my point, so I hear shuffling is getting quite popular here in Brunei and when I heard that, I actually did feel like cutting myself. But why so selfish, you ask? Back when it was still unknown, I enjoyed the fact that I was one of the only few who could do it. But why? Here’s a list of reasons I think valid enough to make my point.

  1. I am a huge attention whore. I have this complex of wanting to be the one and only best. If everyone is doing what I do, how is that going to make me stand out?
  2. Every trend that has passed through this nation, stayed only that, a trend. Eventually they all faded away. Don’t believe me? Okay, what ever happened to the abundance of sk8ers that once conquered the ramps and parking lots of Brunei? Gone! Why has the local radio stations stopped playing grunge/emo/ska music and all that kind of shit? That died. What ever happened to the Yayasan shopping mall? Abandoned and currently, Poklen central. What happened to the hip-hop culture our country so proudly embraced? Nada! What happened to the disaster that is Bootleg jeans and scrunchies? Unfortunately, that one still exists, Do I need to go on?
  3. I still am a huge attention whore. Have you seen my outfits?
  4. Originality and individuality are what I have been trying to promote all these years (partly as an act to rebel against the government). Just the other night, I saw this emo kid shuffling really badly in the middle of the street. An emo, trying to adapt the club/dance culture? Go crawl somewhere dark and cry about hating your parents and leave the dancing to us happy people! See that just proves point number 2 on so many levels.

Did I make enough sense? The second note point I made is the most important to keep in mind. It’s not a trend but a culture, people! If that ever does happen, then I would have to find something else I can claim to be my thing. Cuz’ it is kinda like me with fashion you see, I always have to be one step ahead. You’re on spring ’07, I’m already on winter ’09. Wahah! So anyway, that my friends, is why I hate mainstream.

Why I hate mainstream

6 thoughts on “Why I hate mainstream

  1. Amanda says:

    “And cut ourselves!”

    WTF!?
    dick move.
    not all of us cut,
    cutting is called selfmutilation
    NOT emo.
    inform yourself before you publish

  2. that dude says:

    I agree. Partially. Australia lacks style. I’ve grown up in europe (germany, to be more precise), and it’s shocking here.
    Also shuffling is faggy. Like the entire rave culture btw

  3. JD says:

    Emo used to be cool back in the day; but, since all these teeny 13/14 year olds have took over the fashion (if you can call it that any more) it just sucks.

  4. Undeniably consider that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared
    to be at the net the easiest factor to remember
    of. I say to you, I certainly get irked at the same time as
    other folks consider issues that they plainly do not recognise about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and defined
    out the entire thing with no need side effect , folks could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

Leave a Reply

